Why Can the State of Tennessee Only Be Sued For $300,000 in A Car Wreck Case?

I was badly hurt in a car wreck.  The wreck was caused by a State of Tennessee employee driving a state vehicle.  The State employee was working at the time.  I have heard that the State’s liability is limited to $300,000.  Is that true?

Yes, in Tennessee the State is responsible for the negligence of its employees who cause car wrecks but the State’s responsibility is limited to $300,000.  If the negligent state employee hurts a whole carload of people the recovery is up to $1,000,000 but no one person may recover more than $300,000.  

This is true regardless of the size of the medical bills, the lost wages, or the nature of the injury.   The restriction on recoverable damages is based on a law passed by the Legislature.

Contact Information